Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Register of the Garthwaite (Marion Hook) Papers, 1946-1976
View entire collection guide What's This?
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
The Garthwaite collection includes draft versions of a number of her books including: Bright Particular Star(1958; Coarse Gold Gulch(1956); Holdup on Blackjack Hill; Locked Crowns (1963); Mario (1960); Shaken Days (1952); Tomas and the Redheaded Angel (1950); Twelfth Night Santons; and, You Never Know. The collection also includes research notes and literary correspondence (1946-76).
Marion Garthwaite (1893-1982) was an author of children's fiction and lecturer on Children's Literature at the University of the Pacific, Stockton, Calif. (1954-65) and at the University of San Francisco (1967-73). She received an A.B. from the University of California, Berkeley (1916) and later studied children's literature at the Riverside Library School (1923). Garthwaite was Children's Librarian first at the Madera County Library and subsequently at the Redwood City Library (1951-1960). Beginning with her first book, Tomás and the Redheaded Angel (1950), Garthwaite's stories were often based on California history. Her books won a number of awards, including: the Commonwealth Club Silver Medal (1950); the AAUW Distinguished Woman Award (1967); and, a citation from the California Library Association.
Collection is open for research.