Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Inventory of the Arthur Bliss papers, 1940-1958
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (75.75 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Details
Table of contents What's This?
  • Descriptive Summary
  • Administrative Information
  • Scope and Content

  • Descriptive Summary

    Title: Arthur Bliss Papers,
    Date (inclusive): 1940-1958
    Collection number: ARCHIVES BLISS 1
    Creator: Bliss, Arthur, Sir, 1891-1975
    Extent: Number of container: 1 box
    Repository: The Music Library
    Berkeley, California 94720-6000
    Shelf location: For current information on the location of these materials, please consult the Library's online catalog.
    Language: English.

    Administrative Information


    Arthur Bliss, 1941 and 1958.


    Collection is open for research.

    Publication Rights

    All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the Head of the Music Library.

    Preferred Citation

    [Identification of item], Arthur Bliss papers, ARCHIVES BLISS 1, The Music Library, University of California, Berkeley.

    Scope and Content

    Includes 2 compositions (Ballet "Lady of Shalott" and String quartet no. 2) commissioned for performance at the University of California, Berkeley, and class notes for courses taught at Berkeley, 1940-1941.