Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Inventory of the Jonathan Elkus Papers, 1940-[ongoing]
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (124.44 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Details
Table of contents What's This?
  • Descriptive Summary
  • Administrative Information
  • Biographical Sketch
  • Scope and Content
  • Series Description

  • Descriptive Summary

    Title: Jonathan Elkus Papers,
    Date (inclusive): 1940-[ongoing]
    Collection number: ARCHIVES ELKUS 3
    Creator: Elkus, Jonathan
    Extent: 2 legal size document boxes

    7 oversize legal document boxes

    3 flat storage boxes

    1 oversize storage boxes
    Repository: The Music Library
    Berkeley, California 94720-6000
    Shelf location: For current information on the location of these materials, please consult the library's online catalog.
    Language: English.

    Administrative Information


    Collection is open for research.

    Publication Rights

    All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the Head of the Music Library.

    Preferred Citation

    [Identification of item], Jonathan Elkus Papers, ARCHIVES ELKUS 3, The Music Library, University of California, Berkeley.

    Biographical Sketch

    Jonathan Britton Elkus (b. San Francisco, CA, August 8, 1931). Composer, arranger, editor, and teacher. He studied composition with Charles Cushing and William Denny at the University of California, Berkeley (BA 1953), with Ernst Bacon and Leonard Ratner at Stanford University (MA 1957), and with Darius Milhaud at Mills College (1957). He taught at Lehigh University from 1957 to 1973 and became director of music at Cape Cod Academy in 1979. He has been guest conductor with concert bands throughout the USA.
    As an editor, Elkus has been closely associated with the music of Charles Ives. He is editor of the Ives Society's critical edition of the Robert Browning Overture and is the author of Charles Ives and the American Band Tradition (1974/R1975). A vital interest in extending the repertory of concert bands has resulted in a number of compositions and numerous transcriptions, including Ives's A Son of a Gambolier and The Circus Band, and Berlioz's Grande Symphonie funébre et triomphale. Elkus's musical vocabulary draws on several 20th-century idioms, resulting in a highly individual style with strong definition of pitch and chord centers. -- New Grove Dictionary of American Music
    Jonathan Elkus presently teaches at the University of California, Davis, and with his wife, Mickey, runs the Overland Music Distributors in Albany, California.

    Scope and Content

    The collection includes music manuscripts and proofs as well as printed music. It includes concert programs and production notes of performances. It also includes a small collection of personal correspondence, offprint articles and related documents on friends and colleagues. There are some documents on the Cal Band, concert programs, and sound recordings by UC students and groups. A scrapbook documents Elkus's theatrical and musical productions during his years at Cal.

    Series Description

    There are nine series: Music Compositions, Correspondence and other documents, Concerts and Performances, College Class Notes and Assignments, UC Marching Band, Other Organizations, Sound Recordings, Posters, and Miscellany.