Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Finding Aid for the Paul Chihara Collection of Musical Works and Papers 1965-2005
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (103.23 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Details
Table of contents What's This?
  • Descriptive Summary
  • Access
  • Publication Rights
  • Preferred Citation
  • Biography
  • Scope and Content

  • Descriptive Summary

    Title: Paul Chihara Collection of Musical Works and Papers,
    Date (inclusive): 1965-2005
    Collection number: 154
    Creator: Chihara, Paul 1938-
    Extent: 7 boxes ( 3.5 linear ft.)
    Repository: University of California, Los Angeles. Library. Performing Arts Special Collections
    Los Angeles, California 90095-1575
    Abstract: Music manuscripts, published scores, sound recordings, published reviews, and photographs.
    Physical location: SRLF
    Language of Material: Collection materials in English


    COLLECTION STORED OFF-SITE AT SRLF: Advance notice required for access.

    Publication Rights

    Property rights to the physical object belong to the UCLA Library, Music Library Special Collections. Literary rights, including copyright, are retained by the creators and their heirs. It is the responsibility of the researcher to determine who holds the copyright and pursue the copyright owner or his or her heir for permission to publish where The UC Regents do not hold the copyright.

    Preferred Citation

    [Identification of item], Paul Chihara Collection of Musical Works and Papers, 154, Performing Arts Special Collections, University of California, Los Angeles.


    American composer, Paul Chihara (b. Seattle, WA, July 9, 1938) studied composition with Robert Palmer at Cornell University (where he received an MA and DMA in English Literature), Nadia Boulanger in Paris, Ernst Pepping in Berlin, and Gunther Schuller at the Berkshire Music Center.
    Chihara served as an associate professor of music at UCLA from 1966 through 1976. While at UCLA, he founded and directed the Twice Ensemble, conducted the collegium musicum and was composer in residence for the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra (1971-1974).
    He served as the Andrew Mellon Professor at California Institute of Technology in 1975, and taught at the California Institute of the Arts in 1976. Chihara became the composer in residence for the San Francisco Ballet in 1980. He re-joined the UCLA faculty in 1996, and served as Visiting Professor in 1999.
    Chihara has received commissions from many world-renowned performing institutions, including the Boston Symphony Orchestra,the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra, the Cleveland Orchestra, and the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center.
    His compositional style reflects his interest in asian music, and utilizes shifts in timbral coloring and limited pitch movement.

    Scope and Content

    The collection consists of music manuscripts, published scores, sound recordings, programs, published reviews, correspondence and photographs.
    Highlights of the collection include annotated scores and notes on performance and composition by the composer.
    The collection is arranged alphabetically by work title.
    The collection is organized into the following series:
    • Series 1. Birds of Sorrow (Symphony No. 2)
    • Series 2. Clarion
    • Series 3. Concerto for Guitar and Orchestra
    • Series 4. Concerto for Saxophone and Orchestra
    • Series 5. Concerto for String Quartet and Orchestra
    • Series 6. Fantasy
    • Series 7. Forest Music for Orchestra
    • Series 8. Forever Escher
    • Series 9. The Infernal Machine
    • Series 10. Lie Lightly Gentle Earth
    • Series 11. Minidoka
    • Series 12. Magnificat
    • Series 13. Mistletoe Bride
    • Series 14. Nocturne for 24 Solo Voices
    • Series 15. Oedipus Rag
    • Series 16. Prince of the City
    • Series 17. Quartet for Clarinet, Violin, Viola, Violoncello
    • Series 18. Scéne de Ballet (for six instruments)
    • Series 19. Shinju = Lover's Suicide
    • Series 20. Shogun
    • Series 21. Sinfonia Concertante
    • Series 22. String Quartet in One Movement
    • Series 23. Tempest
    • Series 24. Tree Music for Three Violas and Three Trombones
    • Series 25. Trio for Violin, Bass Trombone and Harp
    • Series 26. Miscellaneous Photographs
    • Series 27. Miscellaneous Programs