The Watts Writers’ Workshop was founded in 1965 by Budd Schulberg. This collection contains clippings about the workshop and
works by Jimmie Sherman, one of the Workshop’s members.
The Watts Writers' Workshop (also known as the South Central Writers Workshop: Douglass House), was founded in 1965 by novelist
Budd Schulberg in the aftermath of the Watts Riots. Funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Workshop
was housed in the Douglass House, which served as a meeting space and housing for some of the workshop members. Jimmie Sherman
(b. 1941), was a workshop member. The Workshop still meets sporadically, while the Harlem-based Frederick Douglass Center
for the Creative Arts, the Workshop's Eastern offshoot, is a vibrant organization.
0.5 Linear feet
The collection contains published materials; researchers are reminded of the copyright restrictions imposed by publishers
on reusing their articles and parts of books. It is the responsibility of researchers to acquire permission from publishers
when reusing such materials. The copyright to unpublished materials belongs to the heirs of the writers. Permission to publish,
quote, or reproduce must be secured from the repository and the copyright holder.
COLLECTION STORED OFF-SITE. Advance notice required for access.