Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Germany (Territory under Allied occupation, 1945-1955 : U.S. Zone) Office of Military Government miscellaneous records
No online items No online items       Request items ↗
View entire collection guide What's This?
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
Correspondence, reports, memoranda, statistics, indexes, laws, proclamations, press releases, and bulletins, relating to American administration of occupied Germany after World War II, and especially to civilian relief, economic conditions, housing, and denazification.
The Allied powers who defeated Nazi Germany in World War II divided the country west of the Oder-Neisse line into four occupation zones for administrative purposes during the period 1945-1949. The American zone consisted of Bavaria and Hessen in Southern Germany, and the northern portions of the present-day German state of Baden-Württemberg. The port cities of Bremen (on the Weser River) and Bremerhaven (at the meeting of the Weser and North Sea) were also placed under the control of the U.S. because of the American request to have toeholds in Northern Germany, as well as the bulk of the south. The city of Berlin was jointly occupied by the Allied powers and was itself subdivided into four sectors. The headquarters of the American military government was the former IG Farben Building, Frankfurt am Main.
14 manuscript boxes (5.6 Linear Feet)
For copyright status, please contact the Hoover Institution Library & Archives.
The collection is open for research; materials must be requested in advance via our reservation system. If there are audiovisual or digital media material in the collection, they must be reformatted before providing access.