Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Herbert J. Wrightson musical compositions and papers, 1822-1987
PASC-M 97  
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (67.81 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
This collection consists primarily of manuscript, published and reprinted publications of music. There are also some personal papers.
Herbert James Wrightson was born on Dec. 20, 1869 in Sunderland, England. After studying in Germany, he emigrated to the United States in 1899 and joined the faculty of Wheaton College. Through the years, he also lived in Philadelphia, Dallas, and Chicago, acting as a teacher and a composer. He created dozens of original works, including several sonatas and piano pieces. He also composed music for pre-existing literary works by figures such as Edgar Allan Poe and Mary Baker Eddy. He died on Dec. 24, 1949 in West Lebanon, N.Y.
3.0 linear ft. (5 flat boxes, 2 document boxes, and 1 shoe box)
Property rights to the physical object belong to the UCLA Library Special Collections. Literary rights, including copyright, are retained by the creators and their heirs. It is the responsibility of the researcher to determine who holds the copyright and pursue the copyright owner or his or her heir for permission to publish where The UC Regents do not hold the copyright.
COLLECTION STORED OFF-SITE AT SRLF: Open for research. Advance notice required for access. Contact the UCLA Library Special Collections Reference Desk for paging information.