Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Finding Aid for the Alex North Collection of Motion Picture Music , 1951-1969
PASC-M 17  
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (214.06 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Details
Table of contents What's This?
  • Descriptive Summary
  • Administrative Information
  • Biography
  • Scope and Content
  • Indexing Terms

  • Descriptive Summary

    Title: Alex North Collection of Motion Picture Music,
    Date (inclusive): 1951-1969
    Collection number: PASC-M 17
    Creator: North, Alex
    Extent: 83 boxes (41.5 linear ft.)
    Repository: University of California, Los Angeles. Library. UCLA Library Special Collections
    Los Angeles, California 90095-1575
    Abstract: This collection consists of holograph scores with occasional holograph music notes
    Physical location: Stored off-site at SRLF. Advance notice is required for access to the collection. Please contact the UCLA UCLA Library Special Collections for paging information.
    Language: English.

    Administrative Information

    Restrictions on Use and Reproduction

    Property rights to the physical object belong to the UC Regents. Literary rights, including copyright, are retained by the creators and their heirs. It is the responsibility of the researcher to determine who holds the copyright and pursue the copyright owner or his or her heir for permission to publish where The UC Regents do not hold the copyright.

    Restrictions on Access

    Open for research. STORED OFF-SITE AT SRLF. Advance notice is required for access to the collection. Please contact UCLA Library Special Collections for paging information.

    Provenance/Source of Acquisition

    Alex North; gift; 1976.

    Preferred Citation

    [Identification of item], Alex North Collection of Motion Picture Music, PASC-M 17, UCLA Library Special Collections, University of California, Los Angeles.


    North was born on Dec. 4, 1910, in Chester, PA; attended the Curtis Institute, Juilliard School, and Moscow Conservatory; became music director of the German Theater Group and the Latvian State Theater, and the only American member of the Union of Soviet Composers; returned to the US in 1935; studied with Ernst Toch and Aaron Copland in NY, and composed ballet scores for Martha Graham, Hanya Holm, and Agnes de Mille; composed for the NY stage, including scores for Life and death of an American (1939), Of V we sing (1942), and Death of a salesman (1949); wrote music for some 50 documentary shorts between 1937-50; in 1939 went to Mexico as music director for the Anna Sokolow dance troupe and studied with Silvestre Revueltas; served as a captain in the US Army in World War II; his Revue for clarinet and orchestra was performed by Benny Goodman and the NY Philharmonic under Leonard Bernstein in 1946; began scoring feature films in the early 1950s, becoming a leading Hollywood composer; his musical language encompasses dissonance and lyricism, and ranges from chamber to symphonic proportions; he was nominated for 15 Academy Awards but did not win one until 1986, when the Motion Picture Academy presented him with an honorary life-achievement award; died in 1991.

    Scope and Content

    Collection consists of Alex North's holograph scores, with occasional holograph music notes, for the following motion pictures: The agony and the ecstasy (1965), All fall down (1962), The bachelor party (1957), The bad seed (1956), Cheyenne autumn (1964), The children's hour (1962), Cinerama South Seas adventure (1958), Cleopatra (1963), Death of a salesman (1951), Desiree (1954), Devil's brigade (1968), A dream of kings (1969), Go man go (1954), Hard contract (1969), Hot spell (1958), I'll cry tomorrow (1955), The king & four queens (1956), The long hot summer (1958), Man with the gun (1955), A member of the wedding (1953), Les miserables (1952), The misfits (1961), The outrage (1964), Pony soldier (1952), The racers (1955), The rainmaker (1956), The rose tattoo (1955), Sanctuary (1961), Shoes of the fisherman (1968), Spartacus (1960), Stagestruck (1958), A streetcar named Desire (1955), The thirteenth letter (1951), Unchained (1955), Viva Zapata (1952), Who's afraid of Virginia Woolf (1966), The wonderful country (1959), 2001, a space odyssey (1968), Symphony to a new continent, and Somebody killed her husband (1978).

    Indexing Terms

    The following terms have been used to index the description of this collection in the library's online public access catalog.
    Composers--United States--Archival resources.
    Motion picture music--Scores.