Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Hagen (Earle) collection of television music
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (77.42 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
The collection consists of manuscript and reproduction scores for music composed by Earle Hagen for television productions, including I Spy, and Mod Squad.
Composer Earle Hagen was born July 9, 1919 in Chicago, Illinois and moved to Los Angeles as a child. Early in his career, he played trombone with a number of traveling big bands. Hagen worked as an orchestrator and arranger for 20th Century Fox in the 1940s and began writing music for television after leaving the studio in 1952. Over the course of his career, Hagen wrote theme songs and scored music for numerous television series including Make Room for Daddy (1953-1957), The Andy Griffith Show (1960-1968), The Dick Van Dyke Show (1961-1966), Gomer Pyle- USMC 1964-1969), I Spy (1965-1968), That Girl (1966-1971), The Mod Squad (1968-1973), Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman (1976-1977), Eight is Enough (1977-1981), Dukes of Hazzard (1979-1985) and Mike Hammer (1984-1989).
54 Linear Feet (108 boxes)
Property rights to the physical objects belong to UCLA Library Special Collections. All other rights, including copyright, are retained by the creators and their heirs. It is the responsibility of the researcher to determine who holds the copyright and pursue the copyright owner or his or her heir for permission to publish where The UC Regents do not hold the copyright.
Open for research. All requests to access special collections materials must be made in advance using the request button located on this page.