Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Joaquín Nin-Culmell and José Joaquín Nin y Castellanos family papers
MS 076  
View entire collection guide What's This?
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
This collection contains correspondence, manuscripts, scores, reviews and other material pertaining to Joaquín Nin-Culmell, a twentieth century Cuban-Spanish composer, conductor, pianist, and professor, and his father José Joaquín Nin y Castellanos, a twentieth century Cuban pianist and composer. The included materials document both the professional and personal lives of both men with an emphasis on their musical careers. Highlights include several versions of Nin-Culmell's opera La Celestina, numerous concert programs and reviews of worldwide performances, published and unpublished scores, photographs of Nin-Culmell and his performances, and correspondence with notable musicians of their time.
Joaquín Nin-Culmell was born in Berlin, Germany in 1908 to Cuban singer Rosa Culmell and pianist-composer José Joaquín Nin y Castellanos. Nin Culmell went onto become a composer, pianist, conductor, lecturer, and emeritus professor of music at the University of California, Berkeley. He was educated at the Schola Cantorum (1925-1930) first studying in the class of Paul Braud and then privately with Alfred Cortot and Ricardo Vines. At the Paris Conservatory Nin-Culmell studied harmony, counterpoint, and fugue with Jean and Noel Gallon, and composition with Paul Dukas. As a concert virtuoso, Nin-Culmell performed in Spain, France, Switzerland, Italy, Belgium, Denmark, England, the United States, Canada, and Cuba. He also taught music at Williams College and the University of California, Berkeley, retiring in 1971 as Professor Emeritus. He was founder and conductor of the Berkshire Community Orchestra and conductor of the University of California Symphony from 1950-1954 also having served as guest conductor of the Miami Symphony Orchestra, San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, Aspen Festival Orchestra, and the Municipal Orchestra of Barcelona. Nin-Culmell composed music for piano, voice, string quartet, solo cello, solo guitar, orchestra, and unaccompanied chorus. Perhaps his most famous work, Nin-Culmell was the composer of the opera La Celestina (1985) based on a 15th century drama. Nin Culmell passed away in January 2004.
58.83 linear feet (68 boxes)
Copyright Unknown: Some materials in these collections may be protected by the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.). In addition, the reproduction, and/or commercial use, of some materials may be restricted by gift or purchase agreements, donor restrictions, privacy and publicity rights, licensing agreement(s), and/or trademark rights. Distribution or reproduction of materials protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners. To the extent other restrictions apply, permission for distribution or reproduction from the applicable rights holder is also required. Responsibility for obtaining permissions, and for any use rests exclusively with the user
This collection is open for research.