Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Clifford Vaughan musical compositions, [1925]-1987
View entire collection guide What's This?
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
This collection consists of manuscript and reproduction scores of composer Clifford Vaughan, including works written for dance, organ, piano and violin, and other instruments.
Composer Clifford Vaughan was born September 23, 1893 in Bridgeton, New Jersey, and studied at the Philadelphia Conservatory of Music. Vaughan served as musical director for Ruth St. Denis and Ted Shawn's Denishawn Dancers during their 1925-1926 Asian tour, composing a number of dance works for the troupe. He moved to Los Angeles in the 1930s and worked as an orchestrator and composer for several major studios, including Paramount, Warner Bros., RKO, MGM, Disney, and Universal. Among his orchestration credits are the films Bride of Frankenstein (1935), Old Yeller (1957), and Darby O'Gill and the Little People (1959). In addition, Vaughan composed symphonies, concertos, chamber music, choral works, and violin and piano pieces. He served as organist for the Mt. Hollywood Congregational Church and wrote numerous works for the organ. Clifford Vaughan died November 23, 1987 in El Monte, California.
3.0 linear ft. (6 boxes)
Property rights to the physical object belong to the UCLA Library Special Collections. Literary rights, including copyright, are retained by the creators and their heirs. It is the responsibility of the researcher to determine who holds the copyright and pursue the copyright owner or his or her heir for permission to publish where The UC Regents do not hold the copyright.
COLLECTION STORED OFF-SITE AT SRLF: Open for research. Advance notice required for access. Contact the UCLA Library Special Collections Reference Desk for paging information.