Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Niels Gade papers
MS 074  
View entire collection guide What's This?
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
This collection is comprised of published compositions, musical anthologies and other biographical materials documenting the life and works of Niels Wilhelm Gade during the mid-nineteenth century.
Neil Wilhelm Gade was a Danish composer and teacher in Copenhagen,Denmark. Born in 1817, Gade spent the majority of the mid to late 19th Century composing and becoming acquainted with other composters such as Robert Schumann and Cornelius Gurlitt. In Copenhagen, Gade became the director of the Copenhagen Musical Society where he established a new orchestra. His works include eight symphonies, violin concertos, chamber pieces, cantatas, and both organ and piano pieces that were composed between 1847 and his death in 1890.
13.23 linear feet (29 boxes)
Copyright has not been assigned to the University of California, Riverside Libraries, Special Collections & Archives. Distribution or reproduction of materials protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners. To the extent other restrictions apply, permission for distribution or reproduction from the applicable rights holder is also required. Responsibility for obtaining permissions, and for any use rests exclusively with the user.
This collection is open for research.