Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
San José State University Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association Collection
View entire collection guide What's This?
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
The San José State University Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association (SJSU ERFA) collection (1950-2014), formerly known as San José State University Emeritus Faculty Association, documents the activities of this organization of emeritus and retired faculty members. Materials include minutes, correspondence, newsletters, newspaper clippings, and membership lists.
The San José State University (SJSU) Emeritus Faculty Association (EFA) was established in 1986 with the purpose of helping retired faculty members stay connected to and informed of the University's activities. By September 1986, EFA began with more than 170 charter members. Although the Association's name has since changed to Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association (ERFA) in order to honor retired faculty who had not received emeritus status, it remains dedicated to preserving connections for all retired faculty members. According to ERFA's Constitution and by-laws, these connections are maintained by providing ways for retired faculty members to participate in campus activities: securing and enhancing their rights and privileges as former faculty; encouraging their professional work and facilitating their presences on campus; and creating social, recreational, and educational programs. These goals have been guided by ERFA's newsletter, excursions, and luncheons. The SJSU Academic Senate recognizes that work of the Association, with a member of the organization serving as a representative to the Senate and the Curriculum and Research Committee. As of 2014, the Association's membership included more than 300 people who have taught in all of SJSU's academic disciplines. In 2015, ERFA's Executive Board members were President Jo Bell Whitlatch; Vice President Nancie Fimbel; Secretary Dennis Wilcox; Treasurer Abdel El-Shaieb; Members at Large Marian Yoder, Bill McCraw, and Carmen Sigler; Academic Senate Peter Buzanski; and Past President Joan Merdinger.
5 boxes (7 linear feet)
Copyright has not been assigned to the San José State University Library Special Collections and Archives. All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the Director of Special Collections. Permission for publication is given on behalf of the SJSU Special Collections and Archives as the owner of the physical items and is not intended to include or imply permission of the copyright holder, which must also be obtained by the reader. Copyright restrictions also apply to digital reproductions of the original materials. Use of digital files is restricted to research and educational purposes.