Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Philosophy Department. Chair. Correspondence files. 1930-1987.
University Archives Record Series 411  
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (57.69 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Details
Table of contents What's This?
  • Access
  • Publication Rights
  • Preferred Citation
  • Historical note
  • Scope and Content
  • UCLA Catalog Record ID

  • Title: Philosophy Department. Chair. Correspondence files.
    Identifier/Call Number: University Archives Record Series 411
    Contributing Institution: UCLA Library Special Collections
    Language of Material: English
    Physical Description: 5.2 linear ft. (13 boxes)
    Date: 1930-1987
    Abstract: Record Series 411 contains the correspondence of chairs of the Department of Philosophy at UCLA.
    Creator: University of California, Los Angeles. Philosophy Department..


    COLLECTION STORED OFF-SITE AT SRLF: Open for research. Advance notice required for access. Contact the UCLA Library Special Collections Reference Desk for paging information.

    Publication Rights

    Copyright of portions of this collection has been assigned to The Regents of the University of California. The UCLA University Archives can grant permission to publish for materials to which it holds the copyright. All requests for permission to publish or quote must be submitted in writing to the UCLA University Archivist.

    Preferred Citation

    [Identification of item], Philosophy Department. Chair. Correspondence files (University Archives Record Series 411). UCLA Library Special Collections, University Archives.

    Historical note

    The Department of Philosophy at UCLA began operating as a separate entity in 1924. In 1929 the campus moved to Westwood and an undergraduate Philosophy curriculum was created; shortly after, a graduate program was developed in 1933. Professor Hans Reichenbach greatly accelerated the program by introducing a strong curricular tradition rooted in studies in logic and the philosophy of science. Additionally, the presence of prominent philosophers, such as Bertrand Russell (from 1939-40) and Rudolf Carnap (1953), catapulted the Philosophy Department's reputation. An endowment established in 1941 by Mr. And Mrs. C. N. Flint also assisted in appointing 14 distinguished philosophers from around the world. The Philosophy Department continually expanded as fields of logic, epistemology, semantics, metaphysics, ethics, the philosophy of law, and the history of philosophy were incorporated into the program. By 1964, enrollment within the Philosophy Department reached 2,393 students and 16 faculty members.
    The following people have served as Chair of the Department of Philosophy:

    Donald A. Piatt, 193?-1940

    Hugh Miller, 1940-1944

    J. Wesley Robson, 1944-1946

    Hugh Miller, 1946-1947

    Donald A. Piatt, 1947-1952

    David B. Kaplan, 1952-1957

    Robert M. Yost, 1957-1961

    Ernest A. Moody, 1962-1965

    Donald Kalish, 1965-1969

    Montgomery Furth, 1973-1975

    Robert Merrihew Adams, 1975-1979

    David Kaplan, 1983-1986

    Marilyn Adams, 1986-1988

    Montgomery Furth, 1988-1990

    Scope and Content

    Record Series 411 contains the correspondence of chairs of the Department of Philosophy at UCLA. Files include the correspondence of Montgomery Furth, Donald Kalish, David B. Kaplan, Hugh Miller, Donald Ayres Piatt, and Robert M. Yost.
    This is an active record series; additional University records are expected to be added.

    UCLA Catalog Record ID

    UCLA Catalog Record ID: 3466877