Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Poodle Dog Restaurant and Marcel Mailhebuau collection.
Collection Overview


Poodle Dog Restaurant and Marcel Mailhebuau collection
Poodle Dog Restaurant


Mailhebuau, Marcel, creator, collector.


1890 (issued)


Box 2748: biography and correspondence; Box 2749: correspondence; Box 2750: trip to France, demise of Poodle Dog, invoices; Box 2751; price lists and invoices; Box 2752: restaurant documentation; Box 2753: legal documents; Box 2754: personal and miscellaneous; Box 2755: Camille's Rotisserie; Box 2756: World War I, events, periodicals; Box 2757-2758: invoices and bills; Box 2759: menus; Box 2760: menus; Box 2761: menus; Box 2762: menus and invitations; Box 2763: advertising cards, stationary, wine labels, announcements, programs, posters; Box 2764: business documents; Box 2765: zinc plates, recipes, postcards; Box 2766: miscellaneous; Box 2767: miscellaneous; Box 2768-2770: photos; Box 2771: periodicals and clippings; Box 2772-2775: framed photos, Box 2776-2777: framed items.


Mailhebuau, Camille
Spreckels, Adolph Bernard -- 1857-1924
Poodle Dog Restaurant (San Francisco, Calif.)
Camille's Rotisserie and Restaurant (San Francisco, Calif.)
Lamolle House (San Jose, Calif.)
Restaurants -- California -- San Francisco
Restaurants -- California -- San Jose
World War, 1914-1918


Poodle Dog Restaurant.
Camille Mailhebuau, a native of France, was a proprietor with Louis Coutard of Frank's Rotisserie in San Francisco before the earthquake and fire of 1906. After the disaster they joined with Jean Bergez of the Bergez Restaurant, and Calixte Lalanne and Baptiste Pon of the Old Poodle Dog to establish the new Bergez-Frank's Old Poodle Dog Restaurant. After the restaurant closed due to the restrictions of Prohibition, Mailhebuau opened Camille's Rotisserie and Restaurant on April 14, 1923, which continued for a number of years after his death on December 3, 1924. Mailhebuau also was involved in a San Jose restaurant known as the Lamolle House.
The Old Poodle Dog was one of San Francisco's celebrated French restaurants, and opened at the corner of Washington and Dupont Streets in 1849. In 1868 it moved to the corner of Bush and Dupont, and thirty years later into new quarters at Mason and Eddy. After burning down in the 1906 fire, the Poodle Dog temporarily occupied a former residence at 824 Eddy Street. On June 24, 1908, Bergez-Franks Old Poodle Dog Restaurant, operated by a consortium of pre-fire French restaurant keepers, opened at 415 Bush Street. It closed on April 15, 1922 due to the restrictions of Prohibition. In subsequent years the Poodle Dog name was revived by descendents of its former owners at several San Francisco locations.
Purchase; Jeff D. Carr; Oakland, CA 94604; 2005.
Gift; Phil and Sue Fialer; Palo Alto, CA 94303; 2007.
Unrestricted. Please credit California State Library.
Inventory available in library; folder level control.

Physical Description:

24 manuscript boxes; 15 1/4 x 12 x 3 in.
5 manuscript boxes; 25 1/4 x 19 1/4 x 4 in.
1 manuscript box; 28 1/4 x 13 3/8 x 2 in.






Copyright Note:

Unrestricted. Please credit California State Library.