Title:Old Poodle Dog Restaurant ephemera, approximately 1906-1922
Creator/Contributor:Old Poodle Dog Restaurant, creator, creator.
Contains a large number of items related to food and wine service at the Old Poodle Dog Restaurant in San Francisco. Items
include printed menus of various shapes and sizes, printed menu booklets, printed wine booklets, blank menu cards, wine labels,
special occasion menu blanks, liquor tax labels, postcards of the interior on New Year's Day, etc. Many have illustrations
and most are in color. One item of note is a menu printed on a sheet of redwood for a joint dinner meeting of the San Joaquin
Valley, Sacramento Valley, and Central California Lumberman's Clubs on September 9, 1915. The front of the menu has an illustration
titled "In the Lifetime of a California Redwood" depicting historical events juxtaposed along the length of a standing redwood
tree. Also contains some items unrelated to the main business such as German die-cut scraps, blank menu cards from the Hamburg-American
Line, and German language menus.
Old Poodle Dog Restaurant -- Archives
Old Poodle Dog Restaurant -- Pictorial works
French restaurants -- California -- San Francisco
Restaurants -- California -- San Francisco
Old Poodle Dog Restaurant ephemera, approximately 1906-1922, BANC MSS 2015/113, The Bancroft Library, University of California,
Purchase ; from Ben Kinmont Bookseller ; 20150210.
The Poodle Dog restaurant in San Francisco, California, opened in 1849. Located in what would later become Chinatown at Washington
and Dupont Street (now Grant Avenue), it was originally known as Le Poulet d'Or but came to be known as The Poodle Dog. The
true origin of its name remains obscure and is attributed variously to the popularity of the owner's dog or the inability
of miners to pronounce the original French name. In 1868, the restaurant moved to a new six-story brick building on Bush St.
and the name was changed to The Old Poodle Dog Restaurant. The restaurant was destroyed in the earthquake and fire of 1906,
and was re-opened on Eddy Street in mid-1906 by J.B. Pon and chef Calixte Lalanne. In 1908, the restaurant merged with two
others and became the Bergez-Franks Old Poodle Dog Restaurant until finally closing its doors in 1922.
In English with some French and German.
1.65 (1 1
BANC MSS 2015/113 carton 1
BANC MSS 2015/113 box 1
BANC MSS 2015/113