Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Colegio de la Santísima Trinidad records, 1776-1894.
BANC MSS 2009/150 box 1; In Process
Collection Overview

Title:

Colegio de la Santísima Trinidad records, 1776-1894

Creator/Contributor:

Colegio de la Santísima Trinidad (Guanajuato, Mexico), creator, creator.

Creator/Contributor:

Universidad de Guanajuato

Creator/Contributor:

Colegio de la Santísima Trinidad (Guanajuato, Mexico)

Creator/Contributor:

Real Colegio de la Purísima Concepción (Guanajuato, Mexico)

Creator/Contributor:

Colegio del Estado (Guanajuato, Mexico)

Abstract:

Correspondence and imprints relating to the operations and activities of the Jesuit church and eventual university, La Santisma Trinidad de Guanajuato, including reports on physical property, vice-regal orders, imprints related to the restoration of the church cupoloa and a speech by the Archbishop of Morelia.

Date:

1776 (issued)

Subject:

n-mx---
Colegio de la Santísima Trinidad (Guanajuato, Mexico) -- Archives
Colegio de la Santísima Trinidad (Guanajuato, Mexico) -- Correspondence
Real Colegio de la Purísima Concepción (Guanajuato, Mexico) -- Archives
Real Colegio de la Purísima Concepción (Guanajuato, Mexico) -- Correspondence
Colegio del Estado (Guanajuato, Mexico) -- Archives
Colegio del Estado (Guanajuato, Mexico) -- Correspondence
Universidad de Guanajuato -- Archives
Jesuit universities and colleges -- Mexico -- Guanajuato
Guanajuato (Mexico)

Note:

UNPROCESSED. UNAVAILABLE FOR USE. Inquiries regarding these materials should be submitted to The Bancroft Library via the Notice of Interest in Unprocessed Collections form.
Colegio de la Santísima Trinidad records, BANC MSS 2009/150, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley.
Purchase; Howard Karno Books; 20070217.
The Colegio de la Santísima Trinidad traces its history back to the founding of Hospicio de Santisima Trinidad, which was established on October 1, 1732. In 1767, the expulsion of the Jesuits from the Americas resulted in the closure of the collegio for 18 years. In 1785 the Colegio re-opened under the name, Real Colegio de la Purísima Concepción. In 1870, the name of the college changed again to Colegio del Estado. In 1945, the college changed its name to Universidad de Guanajuato, and the school was granted autonomy by the state legislature beginning in 1994.
In Spanish.

Physical Description:

print
0.2 (1

Language:

Spanish

Identifier:

http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/libraries/bancroft-library/unprocessed-collections-form
BANC MSS 2009/150 box 1
In Process

Origin:

California

Copyright Note:

UNPROCESSED. UNAVAILABLE FOR USE. Inquiries regarding these materials should be submitted to The Bancroft Library via the Notice of Interest in Unprocessed Collections form.

Related Item:

http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/libraries/bancroft-library/unprocessed-collections-form