Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Guide to the Biology Divisional Records, 1926-1984
Consult repository  
View entire collection guide What's This?
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
The records of the Biology Division from 1936 to 1984 contain documents relating to the development of one of the most prestigious and productive biology programs in America. Since its founding by Thomas Hunt Morgan in 1928, the Biology Division has been dedicated to Morgan's vision of a program focused on the discovery of the fundamental principles of life. The seeds planted by Morgan have born fruit in a wide diversity of research programs, and have been crowned by the receipt of four Nobel prizes by faculty of the department: George Beadle in 1958, Max Delbrück in 1969, Roger W. Sperry in 1981, and Edward B. Lewis in 1995.
Copyright has not been assigned to the California Institute of Technology Archives. All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the Head of the Archives. Permission for publication is given on behalf of the California Institute of Technology Archives as the owner of the physical items and is not intended to include or imply permission of the copyright holder, which must also be obtained by the reader.
Collection is open for research.