Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Inventory of the Dept. of Public Works. Division of Highways. District III Records
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (106.11 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Details
Table of contents What's This?
  • Descriptive Summary
  • Administrative Information
  • Agency History

  • Descriptive Summary

    Title: Dept. of Public Works. Division of Highways. District III Records
    Inventory: F3802
    Creator: California. Division of Highways
    Repository: California State Archives
    Sacramento, California
    Language: English.

    Administrative Information

    Publication Rights

    For permission to reproduce or publish, please contact the California State Archives. Permission for reproduction or publication is given on behalf of the California State Archives as the owner of the physical items. The researcher assumes all responsibility for possible infringement which may arise from reproduction or publication of materials from the California State Archives collections.

    Preferred Citation

    [Identification of item], Dept. of Public Works. Division of Highways. District III Records, F3802, California State Archives.

    Agency History

    At its inception in 1911 District III, headquartered at Sacramento, encompassed approximately 680 miles covering the counties of: Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Sierra, Solano, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tuolumne, Yolo and Yuba. By 1924 District III covered 1,593.3 miles, and this expansion prompted a reorganization of territory. An east-west line passing through the city of Sacramento reduced the area of District III to 844.78 miles including the counties of: Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Nevada, Placer, southern Plumas, the northern portions of Sacramento and Yolo Counties, Sierra, Sutter and Yuba. The balance of the former District territory formed the new District X. By 1933 Plumas County was absorbed into District II, and district headquarters moved from Sacramento to Marysville.