Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Inventory of the Nineteenth Festival, International Society for Contemporary Music records, 1942
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (53.98 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Details
Table of contents What's This?
  • Descriptive Summary
  • Administrative Information
  • Scope and Content

  • Descriptive Summary

    Title: Nineteenth Festival, International Society for Contemporary Music Records,
    Date (inclusive): 1942
    Collection number: ARCHIVES ISCM 1
    Creator: International Society for Contemporary Music. Festival (19th : 1942 : Berkeley, Calif.)
    Extent: 1 scrapbook ([49] leaves) ; 16 x 11 3/4 in
    Repository: The Music Library
    Berkeley, California 94720-6000
    Shelf location: For current information on the location of these materials, please consult the Library's online catalog.
    Language: English.

    Administrative Information


    Alfred Frankenstein.


    Collection is open for research.

    Publication Rights

    All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the Head of the Music Library.

    Preferred Citation

    [Identification of item], Nineteenth Festival, International Society for Contemporary Music records, ARCHIVES ISCM 1, The Music Library, University of California, Berkeley.

    Scope and Content

    Programs, notices, letters to Alfred Frankenstein, biographical sketches of some of the composers performed at the Festival, statements by some of the composers about their works, letters of congratulations.
    The scrapbook compiled by Helen Renstrom (Farnsworth), contains notices, programs, biographical sketchescontains letters signed by:
    • Frederic Balazs
    • Bela Bartok
    • Arthur Benjamin
    • Nicolai Berezowsky
    • Rebecca Clarke
    • David Diamond
    • Hanns Eisler
    • Donald Fuller
    • Ellis Kohs
    • Ernst Krenek
    • Felix Labunski
    • Normand Lockwood
    • Jacques de Menasce
    • Robert Palmer
    • Karol Rathaus
    • Wallingford Riegge
    • Pedro Sanjuan
    • Arnold Schoenberg
    • Andre Singer
    • Alexander Tansman