Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Inventory of the Charles Harlan papers, 1958-1969
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (78.72 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Details
Table of contents What's This?
  • Descriptive Summary
  • Administrative Information
  • Biographical Sketch
  • Scope and Content
  • Arrangement

  • Descriptive Summary

    Title: Charles Harlan Papers,
    Date (inclusive): 1958-1969
    Collection number: ARCHIVES HARLAN 1
    Creator: Harlan, Charles Leroy, 1920-1972
    Extent: Number of containers: 1 flat storage box

    Linear feet: 0.3
    Repository: The Music Library
    Berkeley, California 94720-6000
    Shelf location: For current information on the location of these materials, please consult the Library's online catalog.
    Language: English.

    Administrative Information




    Cabrillo Community College (Aptos, Calif.)


    Collection is open for research.

    Publication Rights

    All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the Head of the Music Library.

    Preferred Citation

    [Identification of item] Charles Harlan papers, ARCHIVES HARLAN 1, The Music Library, University of California, Berkeley.

    Biographical Sketch

    Charles Leroy Harlan was born in Lewiston, Idaho (December 4, 1920), and died in Seaside, California (February 14, 1972). He studied with Joseph Brye at the University of Idaho, Roger Sessions at the University of California (Berkeley), and received a doctorate (Ed.D.) from Colorado State College in 1961. He taught at the California public schools from 1957 and at Monterey from 1970 until his death in 1972.
    His orchestral works include Arioso, Lysistrata (2-act Ballet, 1958), Overture for Orchestra, Psalm 98 (with chorus, 1961), and Suite for Strings and Percussion (1969). His chamber music includes Trio for Brass (trumpet, horn, and trombone), and Fantasy (for alto saxophone).

    Scope and Content

    This collection consists of entirely music scores. They are ozalid reproductions of his manuscripts of two compositions: Lysistrata, and Overture for Orchestra with orchestral parts for both.


    The manuscripts are arranged chronologically. There is only one series.