Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Allen (Irwin) papers
View entire collection guide What's This?
Search this collection
Collection Details
Table of contents What's This?
  • Conditions Governing Access
  • Immediate Source of Acquisition
  • Arrangement
  • Administrative/Biographical History
  • Preferred Citation
  • Scope and Content
  • Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use
  • Processing Information
  • UCLA Catalog Record ID

  • Language of Material: English
    Contributing Institution: UCLA Library Special Collections
    Title: Irwin Allen papers
    creator: Allen, Irwin
    Identifier/Call Number: PASC.0018
    Physical Description: 65.7 Linear Feet (136 boxes)
    Date (inclusive): 1950-1991
    Abstract: Irwin Allen had a long film and television career. The collection consists of scripts, production material, administrative files, and correspondence related to various television series produced by Irwin Allen.
    Language of Material: Materials are in English.
    Physical Location: Portions of the collection stored off-site. Advance notice is required for access to the collection. All requests to access special collections materials must be made in advance using the request button located on this page.

    Conditions Governing Access

    Open for research. All requests to access special collections materials must be made in advance using the request button located on this page.
    Portions of collection unprocessed. Material in the General and central files (accession LSC-2019-001) is unavailable for access. Please contact Special Collections reference (spec-coll@library.ucla.edu) for more information.

    Immediate Source of Acquisition

    Source and date of original acquisition unknown. Additions to the collection gift of Synthesis Entertainment, 2018 and 2019.


    Arranged in the following series:
    Series 1. Animal world Series 2. Land of the Giants Series 3. Lost in Space Series 4. Swiss Family Robinson Series 5. The Time Tunnel Series 6. Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea Series 7. Administrative files and correspondence Series 8. Scripts, clippings and show-specific administrative files Accession LSC-2019-001. General and central files

    Administrative/Biographical History

    Irwin Allen was born June 12, 1916 in NY City. He was educated at Columbia University and CCNY. He was the editor of Key Magazine, Hollywood; radio director and producer for 11 years; and radio and literary director of his own advertising agency before turning to film production in the early 50s. Allen was the creator and producer of numerous television programs including, "Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea," "Lost In Space," "Land Of The Giant," "The Time Tunnel," and "Swiss Family Robinson," and he produced "The Poseidon Adventure" and "The Towering Inferno," in the 1970s. Allen died in 1991.

    Preferred Citation

    [Identification of item], Irwin Allen Papers (Collection PASC 18). UCLA Library Special Collections, Charles E. Young Research Library, University of California, Los Angeles.

    Scope and Content

    Collection consists of scripts and production material related to various television series produced by Irwin Allen. Each episode includes such documents as story idea, script supervisor's annotated script, various versions of the script, cast and set lists, shooting schedules, call sheets, daily production reports, budgets, director's and writer's agreements, correspondence, and original sketches. Series include "Animal World" (1956), "Land Of The Giants" (1967-70), "Lost In Space" (1965-68), "Swiss Family Robinson" (1975), "The Time Tunnel" (1966-67), and "Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea" (1964-68). Also contains correspondence, newspaper clippings and administrative files, such as meeting minutes, shooting schedules, cast lists, financial and budget papers, agreements, script excerpts, and invitations.

    Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use

    Property rights to the physical objects belong to UCLA Library Special Collections. All other rights, including copyright, are retained by the creators and their heirs. It is the responsibility of the researcher to determine who holds the copyright and pursue the copyright owner or his or her heir for permission to publish where The UC Regents do not hold the copyright.

    Processing Information

    Collections are processed to a variety of levels, depending on the work necessary to make them usable, their perceived user interest and research value, availability of staff and resources, competing priorities. Library Special Collections provides a standard level of preservation and access for all collections and, when time and resources permit, conducts more intensive processing. These materials have been arranged and described according to national and local standards and best practices.
    Processed by UCLA Library Special Collections staff in 1998. 2018 accession (LSC-2018-005) was processed in 2018 by Kuhelika Ghosh, under the supervision of Courtney Dean.

    UCLA Catalog Record ID

    UCLA Catalog Record ID: 462177 

    Subjects and Indexing Terms

    Television producers and directors -- California -- Los Angeles -- Archives.
    Allen, Irwin, 1916-1991--Archives