This digital collection consists of items selected from the F.W. Olin Library's photograph collection that depict Mills College's
early history. The photographs were selected from the three categories that are represented in the collection: buildings,
portraits, and campus life. The F.W. Olin Library's photograph collection is a part of the Mills College Archive and includes
images of historical and current interest to the College. The collection dates from the 1860s to the present with the bulk
of the photos taken at the College's current site in Oakland where the College moved from Benicia, California in 1870.
Founded in 1852 as the Young Ladies' Seminary in Benicia, California, Mills College has a rich history as a leader in women's
education. The College moved to its present site in Oakland in 1870 where the original building, Mills Hall, still stands.
200 online items
Collection open for research.