Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Inventory of the Courts of Appeal Records
See series descriptions  
View entire collection guide What's This?
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
The Courts of Appeal Records at the California State Archives (CSA) contain records from all six appellate courts: San Francisco, Los Angeles and Sacramento (created by election on November 8, 1904), Riverside/San Bernardino (Statutes 1929, c. 691), Fresno (Statutes 1961, c. 845) and most recently, San Jose (Statutes 1981, c. 959). The records consist primarily of appellate case files and registers of action.
The Courts of Appeal were established by constitutional amendment in 1904 (Article VI, SCA 2). They are California's intermediate courts of review and have jurisdiction when superior courts have jurisdiction and in certain other cases prescribed by statute. They exercise mandatory review of any appealable order or judgment from a superior court, except in cases in which the death penalty is imposed, over which the Supreme Court exercises original mandatory jurisdiction. (Cal. Const., Art. VI, section 11) There is no constitutional right to an appeal and the Legislature has the power to determine and change the matters which are appealable. (Powers v. City of Richmond (1995) 10 Cal.4th 85, 108)
747 bound volumes 26,558.1 cubic feet
For permission to reproduce or publish, please contact the California State Archives. Permission for reproduction or publication is given on behalf of the California State Archives as the owner of the physical items. The researcher assumes all responsibility for possible infringement which may arise from reproduction or publication of materials from the California State Archives collections.
Collection is open for research.