Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
California Coastal Commission Collection
SBHC Mss 39  
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (56.33 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Details
Table of contents What's This?
  • Descriptive Summary
  • Access Restrictions
  • Publication Rights
  • Preferred Citation
  • Acquisition Information
  • History
  • Scope and Content of Collection
  • Indexing Terms

  • Descriptive Summary

    Title: California Coastal Commission Collection
    Dates: 1976-1981
    Collection Number: SBHC Mss 39
    Creator: California Coastal Commission
    Collection Size: 10 linear feet (8 records center containers)
    Repository: University of California, Santa Barbara. Library. Department of Special Collections
    Santa Barbara, California 93106-9010
    Physical Location: SRLF.
    Abstract: Primarily packets assembled for Commission members, with agenda, minutes, and supporting documentation such as applications, reports, and fact sheets. The issues generally pertain to Santa Barbara and nearby counties.
    Language: English.

    Access Restrictions

    Collection is stored off-site; advance notice required for retrieval.

    Publication Rights

    Copyright has not been assigned to the Department of Special Collections, UCSB. All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the Head of Special Collections. Permission for publication is given on behalf of the Department of Special Collections as the owner of the physical items and is not intended to include or imply permission of the copyright holder, which also must be obtained.

    Preferred Citation

    California Coastal Commission Collection. SBHC Mss 39. Department of Special Collections, Davidson Library, University of California, Santa Barbara.

    Acquisition Information

    Acquired from Mark Capelli, ca. 1982.


    The following description has been extracted from the State of California official web site at: http://ceres.ca.gov/coastalcomm/whoweare.html 
    The Coastal Commission was established by voter initiative in 1972 (Proposition 20) and made permanent by the Legislature in 1976. The mission of the Commission, as the lead agency responsible for carrying out California's coastal management program, is to plan for and regulate development in the coastal zone consistent with the policies of the California Coastal Act. The Commission is also one of two designated State coastal management agencies for the purpose of administering the federal Coastal Zone Management Act in California. The Bay Conservation and Development Commission has authority over federal activities and federally licensed or assisted activities within San Francisco Bay, many of which are not otherwise subject to state control; the Coastal Commission has the same authority over federal activities and federally licensed or assisted activities elsewhere in the California Coastal Zone. The policies of the Coastal Act deal with public access to the coast, coastal recreation, the marine environment, coastal land resources, and coastal development of various types, including energy facilities, ports, and other industrial development.
    The Commission is an independent entity of 16 members, 12 voting and four nonvoting. The Governor, the Senate Rules Committee, and the Speaker of the Assembly with confirmation of the Assembly Rules Committee, each appoint two public members and two locally elected officials. The four nonvoting members are the Secretary for Resources; Secretary for Business, Transportation and Housing; Secretary for Trade and Commerce; and Chairperson of the State Lands Commission. The Commission appoints an executive director who is responsible for hiring and managing a staff of about 115 under the State's civil service system.
    The Commission's headquarters office is located in San Francisco; while district offices are located along the coast in Santa Cruz, Ventura, Long Beach and San Diego, making it convenient for the Commission staff to visit proposed development sites and interact with the public, coastal local governments, and other agencies. Additionally, a small legislative/intergovernmental coordination office is located in Sacramento, making contact with the Legislature and other state agencies convenient.

    Scope and Content of Collection

    The bulk of collection consists of packets assembled for Commission meetings, with agenda, minutes, and supporting documentation such as applications, reports, and fact sheets. The issues generally pertain to Santa Barbara and nearby counties. Much of the material has the letterhead 'South Central Coast Regional Commission,' which had offices at various locations in Santa Barbara during the period represented in the collection.
    The files in this collection were acquired from Commission staff analyst Mark Capelli, ca. 1982. They are arranged chronologically.

    Indexing Terms

    The following terms have been used to index the description of this collection in the library's online public access catalog.
    California Coastal Commission.