Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Finding Aid for the The Dick Crum Collection 1950-1985
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (0.82 Mb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Details
Table of contents What's This?
  • Descriptive Summary
  • Access
  • Publication Rights
  • Preferred Citation
  • Processing History
  • Scope and Content

  • Descriptive Summary

    Title: The Dick Crum Collection,
    Date (inclusive): 1950-1985
    Collection number: 2007.01
    Extent: 42 boxes
    Repository: University of California, Los Angeles. Library. Ethnomusicology Archive
    Los Angeles, California 90095-1490
    Abstract: Dick Crum (1928-2005) was a teacher, dancer, and choreographer of European folk music and dance, but his expertise was in Balkan folk culture. Over the course of his lifetime, Crum amassed thousands of European folk music records. The UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive received part of Dick Crum's personal phonograph collection in 2007. This collection consists of more than 1,300 commercially-produced phonograph recordings (LPs, 78s, 45s) primarily from Eastern Europe. Many of these albums are no longer in print, or, are difficult to purchase. More information on Dick Crum can be found in the Winter 2007 edition of the EAR (Ethnomusicology Archive Report), found here: http://www.ethnomusic.ucla.edu/archive/EARvol7no2.html#deposit.
    Language of Material: Collection materials in English, Croatian, Bulgarian, Serbian, Greek


    Collection is open for research.

    Publication Rights

    Some materials in these collections may be protected by the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.) and/or by the copyright or neighboring-rights laws of other nations. Additionally, the reproduction of some materials may be restricted by terms of Ethnomusicology Archive gift or purchase agreements, donor restrictions, privacy and publicity rights, licensing and trademarks. Transmission or reproduction of protected items beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners. The nature of historical archival collections means that copyright or other information about restrictions may be difficult or even impossible to determine. Whenever possible, the Ethnomusicology Archive provides information about copyright owners and other restrictions in the finding aids. The Ethnomusicology Archive provides such information as a service to aid patrons in determining the appropriate use of an item, but that determination ultimately rests with the patron. The Ethnomusicology Archive is eager to hear from any copyright owners who are not properly identified so that appropriate information may be provided in the future.

    Preferred Citation

    [Identification of item], The Dick Crum Collection, 2007.01, Ethnomusicology Archive, University of California, Los Angeles.

    Processing History

    Processed by Ethnomusicology Archive Staff, 2007

    Scope and Content

    The collection is organized into the following series:
    • Series 1. Bulgaria
    • Series 2. Central Europe (includes German-speaking Europe, etc.)
    • Series 2. Central Europe (includes German-speaking Europe, etc.)
    • Series 3. Former Czechoslovakia NEW
    • Series 4. Former Yugoslavia NEW
    • Series 5. Greece
    • Series 6. Romania
    • Series 7. Jewish Music
    • Series 8. Mediterranean and Southwestern Europe (Includes France, Italy, Spain, and Portugal)
    • Series 9. Northwestern Europe (Includes the United Kingdom and Ireland)
    • Series 10. Russia (includes countries of former USSR)
    • Series 11. North America (Anglo-American and French-American USA and Canada)
    • Series 12. Latin American (Includes Central and South America)
    • Series 13. Miscellaneous Countries (Includes Asia, India, Middle East, Russia, Scandinavia)
    • Series 14. The Balkans
    • Series 15. Extras (documents, photographs, etc)
    • Series 16. Turkey
    • Series 17. Western Classical Music
    • Series 18. Instructional Media (includes cassettes, etc)
    • Series 19. Slovakia & Slovenia (NEW NAME: Former Czechoslovakia--Slovakia + Czech Republic)
    • Series 20. Croatia (includes Serbia)--do not add to series
    • Series 21. Former Yugoslavia OLD (includes Slovenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Serbia)
    • Series 22. Field Recordings
    • Series 23. Archive Master Documents
    • Series 24. Miscellaneous Cassettes, CDs, and Mini Disc