Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Inventory of the California Coastal Commission Records
View entire collection guide What's This?
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
In November 1972, the People of California approved Proposition 20, the Coastal Zone Conservation Act, which created the California Coastal Zone Conservation Commission (CCZCC). The CCZCC was mandated with the responsibility for the preservation and protection of California's environmentally and ecologically diverse coastal resources within the coastal zone. The successor agency to the CCZCC was the California Coastal Commission (CCC). The records of the CCZCC and the CCC reflect the work of the executive director, various divisions, and two regional commissions. Files contain primarily correspondence, minutes, reports, and news articles. Strengths of the collection include records associated with offshore oil drilling in the Outer Continental Shelf, budget related issues, the Sea Ranch development project, and the Local Coastal Program.
In November of 1972, the people of the State of California voted and approved of Proposition 20, the Coastal Zone Conservation Act, which created the temporary California Coastal Zone Conservation Commission (CCZCC). Members to the State Commission consisted of one member chosen by the each of the six regional commissions and six public representatives of which two were appointed by the Governor, two by the Senate Rules Committee, and two by the Speaker of the Assembly. In an effort to maximize local participation and to maintain communication with county and city governments within the coastal zone, six district offices were opened. The six regional commissions formed by Proposition 20 included: the North Coast Regional Commission (Del Norte, Humboldt, and Mendocino Counties); the North Central Coast Regional Commission (Sonoma, Marin, and San Francisco Counties); the Central Coast Regional Commission (San Mateo, Santa Cruz, and Monterey Counties); the South Central Regional Commission (San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Ventura Counties); the South Regional Commission (Los Angeles, and Orange Counties); and the San Diego Regional Commission (San Diego County). Proposition 20 stipulated that the membership of each of the six regional commissions come from an equal number of locally-elected officials (such as council members, mayors, county supervisors) and public representatives of which one-third was to be appointed by the Governor, one-third by the Senate Rules Committee, and one-third by the Speaker of the Assembly.
45 cubic feet
For permission to reproduce or publish, please contact the California State Archives. Permission for reproduction or publication is given on behalf of the California State Archives as the owner of the physical items. The researcher assumes all responsibility for possible infringement which may arise from reproduction or publication of materials from the California State Archives collections.
While the majority of the records are open for research, any access restrictions are noted in the record series descriptions.