Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Ernst Toch papers, ca. 1835-1988
PASC-M 1  
View entire collection guide What's This?
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
The Collection consists of materials relating to the Austrian-American composer, Ernst Toch. Included are music manuscripts and scores, books of his personal library, manuscripts, biographical material, correspondence, articles, essays, speeches, lectures, programs, clippings, photographs, sound recordings, financial records, and memorabilia. Also included are manuscripts and published works of other composers, as well as Lilly Toch's letters and lectures.
Ernst Toch was born on Dec. 7, 1887 in Vienna; taught himself piano in his grandmother's pawnshop; learned musical notation from a local violinist, and copied Mozart's string quartets for practice; began to compose chamber music, and at age 17 had a quartet performed; in 1909 he won the prestigious Mozart Prize and a scholarship to study at the Frankfurt Conservatory, where he studied piano with Willy Rehberg and composition with Iwan Knorr; won the Mendelssohn Prize in 1910 and the Austrian State Prize four times in succession; in 1913 he was appointed teacher of composition at the Mannheim Musikhochschule; married Lilly Zwack in 1916; earned Dr. phil. degree in 1921; taught piano and composition in Berlin from 1929-33, leaving at the onset of the Nazi regime for Paris, London, and finally the US, where he taught at the New School for Social Research in New York (1934-36); taught at the Univ. of Southern CA (1937-48), afterward giving private instruction; lived in Vienna and Switzerland from 1950-58, then spent the remainder of his life in LA; won the Pulitzer and Huntington-Hartford Prizes for his Third Symphony (1956), was elected to the American National Institute of Arts and Letters (1956), received honorary citations from the German and Austrian governments, and won a Grammy Award (1960); publications include Melodielehre (1923) and The shaping forces in music (1948); his compositions encompass all genres and include Fuge aus der Geographie (1930), Seven symphonies, 13 string quartets, several chamber operas, and music for films; he died on Oct. 1, 1964 in LA.
44.0 linear ft. (88 boxes)
Property rights to the physical object belong to the UCLA Library Special Collections. Literary rights, including copyright, are retained by the creators and their heirs. It is the responsibility of the researcher to determine who holds the copyright and pursue the copyright owner or his or her heir for permission to publish where The UC Regents do not hold the copyright.
COLLECTION STORED OFF-SITE AT SRLF: Open for research. Advance notice required for access. Contact the UCLA Library Special Collections Reference Desk for paging information.