Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Bernstein (Elmer) papers
View entire collection guide What's This?
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
This collection contains music scores and sketches, audio and video, office records and other related materials created during the life and career of Elmer Bernstein.
Born on April 4th, 1922, in New York City, Elmer Bernstein's career in the arts began very young. Having been introduced to composer Aaron Copland at 12, Bernstein decided upon music as his course of study. Beginning with composing for Army Air Corps shows on radio during the second World War, Bernstein's career spanned more than half a century, and resulted in 14 Academy Award nominations, 1 Academy Award win (in 1967 for his score for Thoroughly Modern Millie), as well as numerous other awards in film, television, theatre, and commercial recordings. Having been "gray-listed" in Hollywood during the 1950's, Bernstein struggled to find work easily, but he was brought back into the mainstream with his score for Cecil B. DeMille's The Ten Commandments. Bernstein later broke new ground with his jazz scores to The Man With The Golden Arm, and The Sweet Smell of Success,, as well as his scores for The Magnificent Seven (1960) and To Kill A Mockingbird (1962). Bernstein continued to compose until his death in 2004 at the age of 82.
343.25 Linear Feet 255 boxes
All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the Cinematic Arts Librarian. Permission for publication is given on behalf of the Cinematic Arts Library as the owner of the physical items and is not intended to include or imply permission of the copyright holder, which must also be obtained.
Advance notice required for access.