Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Kübler-Ross (Elisabeth) papers
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (126.74 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Details
Table of contents What's This?
  • Conditions Governing Access
  • Immediate Source of Acquisition
  • Biographical / Historical
  • Paging
  • Preferred Citation
  • Conditions Governing Use

  • Language of Material: English
    Contributing Institution: Department of Special Collections and University Archives
    Title: Elisabeth Kübler-Ross papers
    Creator: Kübler-Ross, Elisabeth
    Identifier/Call Number: M2476
    Physical Description: 63 Linear Feet (124 boxes)
    Date (inclusive): circa 1969-2007
    Abstract: Dr. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross devoted her life to the study of death and dying, and has been instrumental in de-stigmatizing dying and drawing attention to the treatment of the terminally ill. Her collection consists of correpsondence (largely incoming), writing, articles and clippings, photographs, audiovisual media, and other material.

    Conditions Governing Access

    Open for research with the exception of the first six Shanti Nilaya newsletters, which are closed until 2039. Note that material must be requested at least 36 hours in advance of intended use. Audiovisual materials are not available in original format, and must be reformatted to a digital use copy. Selected video from this collection has been digitized and is available in the Special Collections reading room.

    Immediate Source of Acquisition

    Gift of Ken Ross and Barbara Rothweiler, 2019. Accession MSS 2019-129.

    Biographical / Historical

    Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, M.D. (July 8, 1926 – August 24, 2004) was a Swiss-born psychiatrist, a pioneer in Near-death studies and the author of the groundbreaking book On Death and Dying (1969), where she first discussed what is now known as the Kübler-Ross model. In this work she proposed the now famous Five Stages of Grief as a pattern of adjustment. These five stages of grief are: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. In general, individuals experience most of these stages, though in no defined sequence, after being faced with the reality of their impending death. The five stages have since been adopted by many as applying to the survivors of a loved one's death, as well. She is a 2007 inductee into the National Women's Hall of Fame. She was the recipient of twenty honorary degrees and by July 1982 had taught, in her estimation, 125,000 students in death and dying courses in colleges, seminaries, medical schools, hospitals, and social-work institutions. In 1970, she delivered the The Ingersoll Lectures on Human Immortality at the University of Harvard, on the theme, On Death and Dying.
    - Taken from the Elisabeth Kubler-Ross Foundation website (https://www.ekrfoundation.org/)


    Page from catalog record: https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/13134711

    Preferred Citation

    [identification of item], Elisabeth Kübler-Ross papers (M2476). Department of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford Libraries, Stanford, California.

    Conditions Governing Use

    While Special Collections is the owner of the physical and digital items, permission to examine collection materials is not an authorization to publish. These materials are made available for use in research, teaching, and private study. Any transmission or reproduction beyond that allowed by fair use requires permission from the owners of rights, heir(s) or assigns. See: http://library.stanford.edu/spc/using-collections/permission-publish.

    Subjects and Indexing Terms

    Terminal care
    Hospices (Terminal care)
    Death -- Psychological effects