The Placer County Archives maintains a collection of ledgers, maps, documents, and images pertaining to the Griffith family
and the Griffith Quarry/Penryn Granite Works.
Enid Griffith was the only child of David and Sydney Griffith. She was born in the family home in Penryn in 1895. She attended
local schools growing up. After graduating from the University of California at Berkeley, she lived the rest of her life in
the family home. Enid was known as the “First Lady of Penryn.” She traveled extensively but was always actively involved
in the small-town activities. When she died in 1976, she granted to the County of Placer a parcel of twenty-three acres and
the Penryn Granite Works quarry office building on the grounds. The Griffth Quarry Park and Museum opened to the public in
May 1981. Enid Griffith’s father, David managed the Penryn Granite Works from 1899 until he died in 1918. David had purchased
the Granite Works from his uncle, Griffith Griffith. G. Griffith had come from Wales in 1847. He worked in granite quarries
on the east coast for some years before entering the California Gold Rush in 1853. He first mined in Coloma and Mormon Island.
He had worked in quarries in Wales and recognized superior granite in California. His first quarry was near Mormon Island
in 1854. He opened another quarry near the Sacramento, Placer and Nevada Railroad but abandoned it when the railroad line
was disbanded. In 1864, he located a superior strain of granite in what is now the town of Penryn. Granite coming from
the quarries at the Penryn Granite Works were known to be of great beauty and strength and valued for the unique color. Penryn
granite graces many buildings and structures including: Fort Point, Alcatraz, San Francisco Mint, San Francisco City Hall,
Mare Island Docks, San Joaquin County Court House among many others.
The Collection is open for research by appointment. Appointment times are available on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Fridays from