Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
UC San Diego. Center for Research in Computing and the Arts Collection
RSS 1225  
View entire collection guide What's This?
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
The UC San Diego Center for Research in Computing and the Arts (CRCA) collection documents the activities of the experimental music and art research unit. Materials include: subject files, photographs, publications and writings, event materials, and produced works.
The Project for Music Experiment, funded by the Rockefeller Foundation, opened in 1972 under the direction of UC San Diego professor Roger Reynolds. In 1973, the project became an organized research unit at the University of California, San Diego and was renamed the Center for Music Experiment (CME). Although autonomous, the Center was monitored by an inter-departmental advisory board with UC San Diego Music Department faculty. The director was nominated by the board and appointed by the Chancellor for terms of up to five years.
9.9 Linear feet (15 archives boxes, 12 card file box, 5 shoe boxes, and two oversized folders)