Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
The Earnest C. Watson Lecture Series, 1971
View entire collection guide What's This?
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
The Earnest C. Watson Lecture Series brings to the public the most innovative scientific research taking place at Caltech. Spotlighting a small selection of the pioneering research the Caltech faculty is conducting, these lectures are geared toward a general audience, part of the Institute's commitment to benefiting the local community through education and outreach. The lectures are given by world renowned Caltech Faculty and in the past have featured also several Nobel Prize winners, such as David Baltimore (1978 Nobel Prize winner for Physiology or Medicine), Hans Bethe (1967 Nobel Prize winner in Physics), William Fowler (1983 Nobel Prize winner in Physics) Murray Gell-Mann (1969 Nobel Prize winner in Physics), David Politzer (2004 Nobel Prize winner in Physics) and Ahmed Zewail (1999 Nobel Prize winner in Chemistry). The collection continues to grow.
The lectures started by Earnest C. Watson in 1922, as a series of Friday night demonstration lectures on campus that became one of the most popular events in Pasadena. In 1972 the series was renamed the Earnest C. Watson Lectures Series, in his honor, and continues to take place with nine public lectures per academic year. E. C. Watson (1892-1970), professor of Physics at Caltech from 1919 to 1959, played an important role in the development of innovative programs in science education on campus as well as serving in a number of important administrative posts. He was chairman of the Division of Physics, Mathematics and Astronomy, and Dean of Faculty.
ca. 90 Audio-analog Cassette
The collection is open for research. Researchers must apply in writing for access.