Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
View entire collection guide What's This?
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
The John Schlesinger papers span the years 1945-2003 (bulk 1995-2000) and encompass 8.3 linear feet. The collection contains production material for twelve films: BILLY LIAR (1963), COLD COMFORT FARM (1996), THE DAY OF THE LOCUST (1975), EYE FOR AN EYE (1996), THE FALCON AND THE SNOWMAN (1985), THE INNOCENT (1995), MADAME SOUSATZKA (1988), MARATHON MAN (1976), MIDNIGHT COWBOY (1969), THE NEXT BEST THING (2000), PACIFIC HEIGHTS (1990), and YANKS (1979). There is also material on the L.A. Opera company production of Benjamin Britten's 1945 opera “Peter Grimes,” directed by Schlesinger in 2000.
John Richard Schlesinger was a London-born director and actor most active in film from 1962 to 2000. Associated with the British New Wave in the 1960s, his first American film was MIDNIGHT COWBOY (1969). Schlesinger received an Academy Award in the directing category for MIDNIGHT COWBOY and was nominated for directing two other films. His final film was THE NEXT BEST THING (2000).
8.3 linear feet of papers.
Property rights to the physical object belong to the Margaret Herrick Library. Researchers are responsible for obtaining all necessary rights, licenses, or permissions from the appropriate companies or individuals before quoting from or publishing materials obtained from the library.
Available by appointment only.