Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (80.53 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
Metrolink, established in 1991, connects six counties across Southern California through its commuter rail network. This collection primarily holds photographs, reports, and promotional publications pertaining to Metrolink from its formation as the Southern California Regional Rail Authority (SCRRA). It showcases the efforts to build the commuter rail line and build ridership in the 1990s.
Founded in 1991 as the Southern California Regional Rail Authority (SCRRA), Metrolink adopted its current name almost immediately as a public moniker. It functions as a commuter rail line connecting the suburbs and residents of Orange County, San Diego County, Ventura County, and Riverside County to metropolitan Los Angeles by eliminating their time spent in traffic as well as the number of cars on the road. The Los Angeles County Transportation Commission (LACTC), San Bernardino Associated Governments (SANBAG), and Ventura County Transportation Commission (VCTC) completed the purchase of the Southern California rights-of-way from Southern Pacific Railroad in 1990, paving the way for the formation of SCRRA. By January 1992, LACTC had also purchased the rights to run trains between Los Angeles and Riverside. Operation officially began in October 1992 with the opening of Union Station’s Metrolink platforms and continues today. The first lines that began operation that day were the Ventura County, Santa Barbara, and Santa Clarita lines, followed shortly by the Riverside and Orange County lines. The Inland Empire to Orange County line, when it began operation in 1995, was the first suburb to suburb commuter line in the country at the time. Metrolink headquarters are located at the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority (Metro) and it is governed by the SCRRA Executive Team and Board of Directors as well as five member agencies—Metro, Orange County Transportation Authority (OCTA), Riverside County Transportation Commission (RCTC), San Bernardino Associated Governments, and Ventura County Transportation Commission—that contribute to SCRRA’s status as a joint powers authority.
2.6 Linear Feet 7 boxes
For permission to reporoduce and publish, please contact the LACMTA Research Library and Archive. Permission for reproduction or publication is given on behalf of the LACMTA Research Library and Archive as the owner of the physical items. The researcher assumes all responsibility for possible infringement that may arise from reproduction or publication of materials from the LACMTA Research Library and Archive collection.
Open for research. Advance notice required for access. Contact LACMTA Research Library and Archive to make an appointment.