Freiberg Mining Academy (1859-1860), mining and milling techniques, mining operations in the trans-Mississippi West (1861-1889),
in Japan (1872-1873) and in Mexico (1876-1879, 1880, 1887-1889), Louis Janin's business and financial affairs, Janin family
matters including Santa Ynez (Calif.) ranch
Louis Janin (Nov. 7, 1837-March 6, 1914), one of three sons in a New Orleans family who followed the profession of mining
engineer, figured prominently in Western mining for nearly sixty years. Educated at Yale and then at the Freiberg Mining Academy,
Janin began his career out West in 1861, shortly after his return from Europe. He made his first mark on the profession in
the early 1860's on the Comstock Lode, where he applied his scientific training to improving the extraction of silver from
formerly-discarded tailings. In subsequent years, first in the employ of others and later in his own practice, he obtained
experience on mining fields all over the Far West. Having established a considerable reputation as a consulting engineer for
accuracy and discriminating judgment, Janin acquired a growing list of clients including investors in Mexican properties and,
in 1873, the Japanese government. His many skills and the breadth of his experience particularly attracted litigants in mining
suits, who regularly employed Janin to ascertain the facts of the matter or provide corroborative testimony. Although afflicted
in later life with a variety of ailments, Janin carried on with his work for some years and attained the profound respect
of his peers. The three sons of his marriage to Elizabeth Marshall, Louis, Jr., Eugene, and Charles, chose their father's
profession, carrying on the distinguished family name with their own careers.
In order to quote from, publish, or reproduce any of the manuscripts or visual materials, researchers must obtain formal permission
from the office of the Library Director. In most instances, permission is given by the Huntington as owner of the physical
property rights only, and researchers must also obtain permission from the holder of the literary rights. In some instances,
the Huntington owns the literary rights, as well as the physical property rights. Researchers may contact the appropriate
curator for further information.
Collection is open to qualified researchers by prior application through the Reader Services Department. For more information
please go to following URL.