Thomas Hood (1799-1845) was an author and artist. He sketched and wrote for local newspapers in Dundee, England (1815-18),
was the assistant sub-editor and constant contributor to
London Magazine (1821), editor of the
Gem (1829) and
New monthly magazine (1841). His son Thomas Hood (1835-1874), better known as Tom Hood, was an author, illustrator, and editor of
Liskeard gazette (1858-59) and
Fun where he did much of the writing, as well as some drawings and engravings. The collection consists of correspondence, literary
manuscripts, and drawings of Thomas Hood (1799-1845), and letters from his son, Thomas Hood. The collection also contains
letters from other members and friends of the family, as well as correspondence (1945-56) to Professor Leslie A. Marchand
relating to his work on the Hoods.
Thomas Hood was born on May 23, 1799 in London, England; after attending private schools, he entered a merchant's counting
house at about age 13; ill health forced him to leave, and he spent time sketching and writing for local newspapers while
staying with relations in Dundee (1815-18); in 1821 he became assistant sub-editor and constant contributor to London Magazine; became editor of the Gem in 1829; published novel Tylney Hall in 1834; became editor of New monthly magazine in 1841; his poems include Song of the shirt, Bridge of Sighs, Miss Kilmansegg, and Epistle to Rae Wilson; he died
on May 3, 1845 in London; his son Thomas Hood, better known as Tom Hood, was born on January 19, 1835 in Wanstead, Essex,
England; matriculated from Pembroke College, Oxford in 1853; published his first book, Pen and pencil pictures, in 1857; editor of Liskeard gazette in Cornwall, 1858-59; worked as a clerk in the war office, 1860-65; wrote novel, Captain Masters's children, 1865; became editor of the comic newspaper, Fun, where he did much of the writing, as well as some drawings and engravings; began Tom Hood's comic annual in 1867, and wrote and illustrated many children's books; he died on November 20, 1874 in Peckham Rye, Surrey.
Property rights to the physical object belong to the UCLA Library, Department of Special Collections. Literary rights, including
copyright, are retained by the creators and their heirs. It is the responsibility of the researcher to determine who holds
the copyright and pursue the
copyright owner or his or her heir for permission to publish where The UC Regents do not hold the copyright.