Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Papers of Christopher Isherwood, 1864-1997 (bulk 1925-1985)
CI 1-4085, FAC 1346-1397  
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (55.88 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
Collection contains the correspondence and manuscripts of British-American writer Christopher Isherwood.
Christopher Isherwood (1904-1986), British-American author of All the conspirators (1928), The last of Mr. Norris (1935) and Good By to Berlin (1939; reissued as The Berlin stories, 1946), Prater Violet (1945), The world in the evening (1954), Down there on a visit (1962), A single man (1964), Meeting by the river (1967), Kathleen and Frank (1971), and others. A close friend of W.H. Auden, Isherwood collaborated with him on the dramas The dog beneath the skin (1935), The ascent of F6 (1936), and On the frontier (1938), as well as on Journey to a war (1939). From 1928 to 1932, he lived in Germany, and in 1939 emigrated to the United States. Isherwood is known for his advocacy of discarding the taboos against homosexuality.
Approximately 3,000 items
Material by W. H. Auden has some restrictions regarding copying and permission to publish. Contact appropriate curator for this information.
The collection is open to qualified researchers. Several of Isherwood's diaries are closed to all access until January 1, 2030. Other diaries that are open for research are fully cataloged and listed in the finding aid. Expurgated versions of the sealed diaries are being published, with two volumes issued thus far: Isherwood, Christopher, Diaries: Volume I, 1939-1960, edited by Katherine Bucknell (New York: HarperFlamingo, Michael DiCapua Books, 1997); and Isherwood, Christopher, Lost Years: A Memoir, 1945-1951, edited by Katherine Bucknell (New York: HarperCollins, 2000).